about-me variable
Front Line Genomics invites you to their event

Ready for Lift Off: The Next Decade of Human Genomics

About this event

Ready for Lift Off: The Next Decade of Human Genomics

Tuesday March 30th, 2021 - 2pm BST / 3pm CET / 9am EDT

Duration: 30 minutes

Summary

Human genetics has come a long way since The Human Genome Project was completed in 2003. We can now start to tailor medical care to patients based on their genetics, start to detect cancer from liquid biopsies, and can now sequence 50 human genomes for less than $1,000 per genome. This is far from the 1 genome per run for $15,000 just ten years ago.

Hear from Ashley Van Zeeland, (Vice President, Product Integration and Customer Collaboration, Illumina) about what the next decade of human genomics holds for us all. Zeeland also takes stock of where we are and the steps we took to get here.

This talk focusses on Illumina's trajectory to advance human genetics through a DNA Data Storage Alliance, the future of CRISPR Genome Editing and how we need to start sequencing at the scale of millions, not the thousands.

What you will take away from this webinar:

  • How ready are we for human and clinical genomics to take off exponentially?
  • What technologies are fuelling that acceleration?
  • What these technologies may mean for human health?

This webinar has been made possible with the kind support of our partner, Illumina.

Hosted by

  • Team member
    Od T
    Oliver de Jong Front Line Genomics

Front Line Genomics

Delivering the Benefits of Genomics to Patients Faster

Front Line Genomics is a genomics-focused media company, with a social mission to deliver the benefits of genomics to patients faster. We organise the Festival of Genomics, digital events and webinars. We also produce reports and operate a content-rich website.