Front Line Genomics invites you to their event

Uncovering Genomic Evidence for Reinfection with SARS-CoV-2: A Case Study

About this event

Uncovering Genomic Evidence for Reinfection with SARS-CoV-2: A Case Study

Friday March 26th, 2021 - 3pm GMT/ 4pm CET / 11am EDT

Duration: 30 minutes

Summary

COVID-19 has been the dominating topic of our lives for the past year, with currently over 114 million cases, 65 million recoveries and 2.5 million deaths worldwide. With the emergence of new variants, the question of COVID-19 immunity has come to the forefront.

Is it possible to become reinfected with SARS-CoV-2? If so, how can we identify and confirm reinfection?

Hear from Joel R Sevinsky (Principal, Theiagen Consulting LLC) the co-author of the landmark paper in The Lancet Infectious Diseases, entitled “Genomics evidence for reinfection with SARS-CoV-2: A case study”, as he discusses how NGS and QIAGEN CLC Genomics Workbench were harnessed to confirm the first documented SARS-CoV-2 case in the United States.

Bioinformatics analysis of the variants found in both specimens strongly supported the hypothesis that infection occurred on two separate occasions by genetically distinct viruses.

What you will take away from this webinar

  • What was happening in the USA in 2020 in terms of sequencing SARS-CoV-2?
  • How did they even find a reinfection case?
  • The bioinformatics workflows used to confirm reinfection


This webinar has been made possible with the kind support of our partner, QIAGEN.

Hosted by

  • Team member
    DG T
    Diana Georgi Front Line Genomics

Front Line Genomics

Delivering the Benefits of Genomics to Patients Faster

Front Line Genomics is a genomics-focused media company, with a social mission to deliver the benefits of genomics to patients faster. We organise the Festival of Genomics, digital events and webinars. We also produce reports and operate a content-rich website.